Item 1:

American Sources such as CNN have labeled the conflict the “War In Iraq Arab sources such as Dar Al-Hayat regularly call the conflict the “War On Iraq

Source: http://www.umich.edu/~newsbias/wordchoice.html

Discrimination:

Analysis: American newspapers use “War in Iraq” to officially show that USA are taking a war for peace. On contrary, media in Arab use “War in Iraq” partly to convict an unjust war carrying out by USA.

Items 2:

I don’t want love. I haven’t time for it. It’s weakness. I am a man, and sometimes I want a woman. When I’ve satisfied my passion I’m ready for other things. I can’t overcome my desire, but I hate it; it imprisons my spirit; I look forward to the timewhen I shall be free from my all desire and can give myself without hindrance to my work. Because woman can do nothing except love, they’ve given it a ridiculous importance. They want to persuade us it’s the whole of life. It’s an insignificant part. I know lust. That’s normal and healthy. Love is a disease. Women are the instruments of my pleasure; I have no patience with their claim to be helpmates, partners, and companions.

Source: English literature, The moon and sixpence, college of foreign language and international studies_ VietNam national university, p.36

  • Prejudice:
    • Apart from love, women can do nothing. They are just the instruments of man’s pleasure. Actually, nowadays, women can take over many tasks both domestics tasks and social ones.
  • Discrimination:
    • The man said that it is impossible for women to become helpmates, partners, and companions. Based on prejudice that is mention above

Item 3:

Source: http://www.cartoonstock.com/directory/b/beauty_is_only_skin_deep.asp

Discrimination based on idea “what is beautiful is good”

Analysis: To him, appearance not quality is very important in a relationships. In other words, whether relationship develops or not depends on beauty.